Governance (non-executives)

Widcombe juniors 9
Palladian Academy Trust

The Palladian non-executive

We are proud to work with a motivated and skilled non-executive of over 100 volunteers to ensure our Trust is well-governed and focused on the key priorities that will make a difference for our children.  The non-executive are supported by an experienced team of governance professionals to support them in their role and in evidencing the difference they make.

Trust Members

The Members are the guardians of the governance of the Trust.  They appoint the majority of Trustees and receive the annual accounts and other assurances that the governance of the Trust is effective.

Ruth Balch (ex-officio as Chair of Trustees)

Andrea Arlidge

Russell Franks

Suzanne McDonald, Corporate Member for Diocese of Bath and Wells

Fergus Stewart, Corporate Member for Diocese of Salisbury

Board of Trustees

The board of trustees manages the business of the academy trust. They act as Directors in terms of Company Law, Trustees in terms of Charity Law and Governors in terms of Education Legislation.  As a mixed MAT, the Trust Board lead on the responsibilities to maintain the Christian Distinctiveness of our church schools in line with the SIAMs framework and to preserve the non-religious nature of our community schools.

The work of the Board is focused is on the three core functions of governance:

  1. ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of  the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
  3. overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.
  • Ruth Balch, Chair of Trustees
  • Donna Tandy, Chief Executive Officer
  • Tom Battersby
  • Richard Bullard                                                                                                                       
  • Rosanna Raimato                                                                                                                           
  • Irene Garcia Sacedon                                                                                                                    
  • Chris Mason, Vice-Chair of Trustees
  • Mike Robbins                                                                                                                                  
  • Sarah Wilton-Rhead                                                                                                                      
  • David Newman       

Biographies of our Trustees can be viewed:

Trustee bios Feb 2023 - New.docx                                                                                              

Trust-Wide Committees

These subcommittees of the Trust Board scrutinise in greater detail key areas of the organisation: Finance and Resources, Audit and Risk and Quality of Education, and hold the Central Team executive to account for actions taken to ensure the smooth running of the organisation and that the support given to school is effective.

The full detail of our non-exec membership and the scheme of delegation can be found in the governance section on the Key information Page. A diagram of the structure can be seen in the image below.

Our Academies

Click 'Open Map' to explore our schools

Open Map
Headteacher - Jane Gascoigne
Combe Down Church of England Primary SchoolThe Log cabin, Church Road, Combe Down, Bath, BA2 5JQ
View Full Profile
Combe Down Church of England Primary School

Latest News

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now